Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
ISSUE 40 : A Nonnative Ecosystem
From Archive to Tribes in Taiwan and Malaysia – Jeffrey Lim’s KANTA Portraits
從殖民檔案到亞洲部落—林猶進的KANTA人像攝影
March 3rd, 2019Type: Interview, Meeting NML
Author: Rikey Tenn , Jeffrey Lim Editor: Rikey Tenn
Quote From: 群島資料庫Nusantara Archive
Note: In 2019, "NML Residency & Nusantara Archive” is happy to invite Malaysian artist Jeffrey Lim to revisit Taiwan with his Kanta Box camera. He exhibited "Kanta Portraits: Taiwan" during Petamu exhibition (2018) and took photos of several indigenous tribes in Taiwan. Such fieldwork also piqued our curiosity about the "colonial archive", the categorization system set by Japanese anthropologists and their way of seeing. During the residency, he encounters the first comparative reading of "type photographs" and his own methodology. The difference also leads to how the representation of (self) images are meant to the subjects and the prospective way of mapping "Nusantara archive" in the future.
Jeffrey Lim, "Kanta Portraits: Taiwan", PETAMU Project (2018); photo: Chen Chia-Jen

Rikey Tenn: The Nusantara Archive tends to invite artists from different countries. You have been to Taiwan four times yet this is our first interview. Many questions can be raised regarding the “KANTA Portraits: Taiwan” project, and if we want go deeper based on these entry points. On one hand, the images of the Taiwanese indigenous people – in popular culture or the academic field – can be traced back to the beginning of 19th century, when Japanese anthropologist (Tori Ryuzo) first applied box camera photography on his subjects. On the other hand, we can also see many images of indigenous peoples in popular cultures, such as in commercials, theatres, movies, or postcards. However, these images somehow represent the stereotypes of indigenous peoples mediated by the colonial documentations. This is what Chen Wei-Chi called “photographs of aborigines as colonial archives” in “Photography as Ethnographic Method: The Anthropological Photographic Archives in Japanese Colonial Taiwan” in 2017.(註1)

Jeffrey Lim: Yes… in earlier times, there were only box cameras. They were almost the same process, in which they had to do it on the spot, and processed on plates. And they didn’t have films. It can be either wet or dry plates. Dry plates meant that they could bring them back to the dark room and process somewhere else. Wet plates meant that they were processed on the spot, but usually not far… it happened as well in the history of Malaysia when the Scottish photographer John Thompson traveled to the Far East. From the 1860s to late 1870s he made more than 600 plates on social documentary, from Ceylon, India, throughout Southeast Asia, Indochina, Hong Kong, Macau, China, and even Formosa. All this works independently as his own initiatives.

 

BT: Yes I would like to further explore this with you, because where we stand determines our vantage point. If the Western-trained photographers (the “imperial gaze”) have shaped our imagination on the indigenous people, how can we develop a different perspective of the indigenous photography in Taiwan? And what makes your practice different from these early practitioners with box cameras? Also, what motivates and drives you to conduct your research in Taiwan?

JL: For one, a lot of photos that existed under Japanese rule were very different from current times; like the attires, even their culture has changed. Because it’s just the circumstance of time, culture changes; it would never stay the same. Looking at colonial archives, and making a comparison with tribespeople now, they will appear different. The thing is, culture always changes, even for indigenous people. If you read the colonial archives for the pictures of the Orang Asli from 200 hundred years ago, they are very different from the natives you currently encounter. In a way it proves the point that culture always reinvented itself, it changes according to circumstance, because of outside influences, e.g. the Japanese colonial period and many others.

 

Interview with Syaman Fengayan on his ancestral farming land, Lanyu (Orchid Island, 2018); courtesy of artist

RT: Those were one of the few earliest impressions we had about ethnic identity. We never met these people directly, only through the the colonial archive. That is why it is critical to point out: If we are not aware of that we might be influenced by how the colonists saw the indigenous people and their way of looking. Can you talk a little bit about how you see it differently; how your practice is different from those early practitioners who share the same photographic technique? Of course the motivations are different; they served for governmental survey on the territory of the natives, and they have their own academic interests. But how can the process be different?

JL: Well, some of the pictures that I’ve taken are in different settings. Take the Tomu (great leader) for instance; I took his portrait three times. First he wore his ‘normal’ clothes, the shirt and pants he uses for church. Then he wore his formal, ‘traditional’ attire. It’s still the same person, but it’s the duality of personalities that he has to live with. Probably another practice is that they keep the original portrait print. This is a very different practice, the silver prints are given to them. And there are also audio recordings. I’m still developing these different dimensions of the different circumstances.

 

Jeffrey Lim, fieldwork for "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

RT: There are many layer processes to your practice, not only to take the photos but also constructing the cameras yourself. You will introduce the box camera and demonstrate it to the tribespeople, you will then develop the photographs, converse with the people who you have photographed, and exchange photos and information with them. You also make presentations or exhibitions. But the audience will only see the end result. They even miss the photos in the drawers in the Petamu Project sometimes. In a project like this, we see that you focus more on the process rather than the result.

JL: For me it is the process, the result is just the by-product, because it actually involves the person to experience the whole portrait and printmaking process. When their portraits were taken, they would see their printed portraits being made, and the print is given to them, that is the real exchange. This experience is important, so the display of the works to an audience after is just the by-product of the process. But I am thinking of not just showing portraits, there are written stories as well. It’s my end result. I’m still exploring how to present the idea or changing concept about anthropology, how I research identities. So, I actually use these portraits, their cultures, and my interpretations of the circumstances as case studies to demonstrate how our ‘traditional’ culture are changing. Therefore it is about exploring these concepts in my process.

 

RT: It’s interesting to see the nuances between the way you show your works solely and with others. You always choose to collaborate with someone from different indigenous communities. Surely it depends on how we get supported and financed. For me your practice is very intuitive; although you are good in articulating your methods such as photography or other media, you combined varied procedures intuitively when necessary.

JL: It’s very important to collaborate. In Malaysia, I always try to connect and collaborate with someone who knows or is from the community. There is also a social connection between the collaborators – also in order to respect the culture. In Taiwan, PETAMU Project is the first time I actually explored and worked with Posak Jodian, an indigenous artist, especially in a journey of discovery with her. I wish to bring this method back to Malaysia.

 

Syaman Fengayan (郭建平) & Syaman Mangamed, Lanyu Island; activist, farmer and his son (2018); courtesy of artist

RT: If it’s true, then does it matter (when we say) that is Posak Jodian or not? I mean, why we think it’s important to go to certain tribe?

JL: That’s why I am not particular about the tribe. It is the circumstances of the artist from the tribe. Let’s say this project with Posak, the community can be Amis, Pangcah or Atayal. Because the focus is on ‘her’ story with her family and community in Fatáan and in XiaoBitan, how they transmigrate from Hualien to XiaoBitan. It’s not in particular about the photography archive of certain tribe; it’s how they negotiate with time and space. It highlights some ideas of the negotiation, the changes in identities, how tribes sustain their cultures in the changing circumstances or on the very site… Of course Taiwan sets the pretext to my work in Malaysia. In a way, Taiwan becomes a reference point for my work with the tribespeople in Malaysia, and it will be a reference point. It doesn’t need to have the direct anthropological connection. I am interested in cultural links, social circumstances and learning more on how they negotiate. So it makes sense when I apply this again in Malaysia – to find patterns between them.

 

Jeffrey Lim, fieldwork for "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

RT (The Q&As hereafter are conducted during Jeffrey’s residency in Taipei): We see how Japanese anthropologists systematically made the ‘official ethnography’ of ‘the savages(蕃人)’. On one hand, Ino built up the Indigenous categorization using the notion of tribes and divides into Ataiya, Vonum, Tso’o, Tsarisen, Payowan, Puyuma, Amis, Peipo, eight tribes in total on the Taiwan Island – 9 tribes in total If adding Tori’s research on the Yami tribe on the Orchid island. (Comparing to the six-tribe categorization later proposed by Mori Ushinosuke). On the other hand, ‘type photograph’ is employed by anthropologists to form “a critical ethnographic method for knowledge construction“. Taking Ushinosuke’s The Book of Taiwan Savage Tribes, Volume 1 (1917) for example, the categorization is used with photograph attachments of male and female’s headshot or profile from each tribe. Can we prevent such a ‘way of seeing’ of indigenous people when we take photos for the tribespeople? Among Ushinosuke’s categories listed based on the stability and the workability of subjects, ‘physical feature’ is considered to be the hardest to change due to variables of time and environment. If we still use the camera as an empirical tool, does it mean that we will inevitably rely on the physiognomical differences – which may lead to the discriminative or the essentialist understandings of the tribes?

JL: The camera that Tori Ryuzo had first used might be Kodak box camera no 1, which was very basic. Because this was the first available for common users – at that time no one could acquire user-friendly cameras – It is not a professional equipment. That’s the funny thing.

I have a lot of to respond the translations of Chen’s article. To deconstruct what makes their identities, and how they navigate their own identities in present time. (I feel better when this is an interview, because we don’t have time to think too much, and the answers I give are subjective and spontaneous.) My thinking has evolved ever since the last interview we did on Skype in 2018. I went to Southeast Japan island of Shikoku for residency after that, and Posak also finished her video, and we did the exhibition together. This is not what I discuss with anyone because I’m still developing my thinking. The exhibition UNIVERSITAS (2018/12/15 ~ 2019/2/24) directly strikes me to this question. UNIVERSITAS is about the methodology and attempt of how they re-culturize themselves, for me it very much answers this question, because they use the same methodology as the westerners. The camera is just another tool, like all the tools they use for study and categorize scientifically. They use the camera to systematically differentiate. So this is the predicament of the methodology; the predicament is conflicting. When they adopt this from the west, they made the same mistake as the west. The later also colonize, discriminate and categorize using the existed tools.

 

printing their portraits in an open darkroom for Syaman Lamuran (董恩慈) & Sinan Lamuran (謝鳳英), Lanyu Island (2018); photo courtesy of artist

RT: “From present to historic, although there are changes in the research direction of ethnographic documents, the question of ethnic categorization and the origin of tribes and communities, and the research inclination to comparative ethnology in peripheral island indigenous people are still continuing.” (Chen Wei-Chi) The latest theory of the origin of Austronesian languages from Taiwan is always realized and adopted in many artists’ practices (this is why indigenous tribes become the subject of some art projects in Taiwan). Somehow it also leads to the danger of deliberate explanation of the need of assimilation. This reminds me in 1920s, ‘Malay people’ was believed to be the origin of both inhabitants in Southern Japan and Takasago(高砂). That is also what Takekoshi Yosaburō(竹越與三郎)’s argument in his famous Nangokuki(南國記), when he said the Japanese should know more about ‘the South’ due to “the mix of blood of Malay people in South Japanese people’ vessels.” (Nangokuki, 1910)(註2)

JL: Since I come from a different background, the camera is not the same tool for me. What I use it for has very different intentions from the studies that they did. How they studied is the predicament of ethnography study of culture. They always viewed tribes from their own culture. In that sense they already had a bias, a stereotype before they even started. In the beginning, they called them ‘the savages’, (although I have an issue about this term) – in Europe they called them ‘the barbarians’, because they didn’t live a ‘civilized’ life. They later then called them ‘Takasago’ which showed that they had more respect. But it was still a form of manipulation.

 

Jeffrey Lim, "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

RT: Does it mean that’s why it’s important for us not to follow the existing normalised convention?

JL:  Well, we have to question it. The expectation is now, who then are these pictures for? Who then owns the right to this form of imagery? This form of image is just one form of representation. Some of the tribespeople have their ways of dealing with the (visual) forms of themselves in terms of how to represent themselves, through drawing, through pattern making. It’s just different forms. Photography is just the western form of looking. The natives have their own forms as well. In my works, I have already started to bridge other dimension: audio recording. Luc(註3) did the audio and Posak did the video. It’s another medium. We collaborated to look at different representations of cultural identities, not just through the pictures. The pictures are just the end results, but the process was important. When we ask the questions and understand the circumstances that they’ve come from… and the aspects of their identities.

 

RT: I saw the difference since the ‘light-weight’ sound recording equipment didn’t exist for Japanese anthropologists. So finally we have to talk about the technique, or the medium, I mean technology will affect how we see the subject, and the tribespeople will also adopt it. It interesting how you make these encounters ‘mystical’ again, because you don’t rely on easy tools. Instead, you have a lot of operations: the posturing, the adjusting, the hand lighting, etc, to make familiar things ‘unfamiliar’ again.

Printed portrait hung on the main wall of their family home, Temiar tribe of Pos Piah village, Upper Perak, Malaysia. Photo courtesy of artist.

JL: Okay. Kanta box is very fresh because they have never seen it before, so it helps create a bridge. They was a reference to ‘materializing’, how I materialize an image of their existence onto a piece of paper. This connection matters, because I present to them ‘a tangible self’. Sometimes they want their portraits taken. This form of representation creates some sort of formality. It’s a form of identity that is recognized by the system / state, because it’s photography.

 

RT: Definitely it’s the new narrative of our research, since it’s not only about the tribes in different islands, also about the locality, the photography, and the mapping of Nusantara that we share. I believe that there are still many to be articulated in between the representation of photography and the identity recognized by the state, like the way you described.

 

Footnote
[1] See: Chen Wei-Chi, “Photography as Ethnographic Method: The Anthropological Photographic Archives in Japanese Colonial Taiwan, 1".
[2] "此馬來人種居住於與大日本帝國南端相望之地,儘管他們血液的一部份混入我南方 臣民的脈管之中,我國人卻把這擱置一旁,對他們馬來人的理解相當少,卻徒然談論歐美、中國為多,這豈不是求之高遠而失之卑近嗎。" See: Takekoshi Yosaburō(竹越與三郎), Nangokuki(南國記), page 2-3. Also see: Tsai, Yao-wei (蔡耀緯), "浪人游臺灣—哈利.法蘭克和他的《日本與福爾摩沙一瞥》". "Both E. Owen Rutter and Harry Alverson Franck have mentioned... Taiwan indigenous people are originated from Malay Peninsula. Rutter has, based on the studies and the documents of early Western explorers, pointed out the similarities among 'Formosan Languages', Bornean languages, and Bahasa Melayu. (Owen Rutter, Through Formosa; 1921). Franck mentioned that it's difficult to tell Formosan indigenous people from the islanders in Southern Japan, even to the Japanese. Therefore he concluded that both Taiwan indigenous people and Japanese are originated from Malay people (Harry A. Franck, Glimpse of Japan and Formosa; 1924)"– the argument had been rejected by other anthropologists.
[3] Chen, Zi-Hua (Uselrepe) is a Rukai artist from Wuta, Pintung. She creates images with her hand-made cameras. In 2018, she has collaborated with Jeffrey Lim in the exhibition "Kanta Portraits: Wuta" project in Polymer, Taipei.

Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
From Archive to Tribes in Taiwan and Malaysia – Jeffrey Lim’s KANTA Portraits
從殖民檔案到亞洲部落—林猶進的KANTA人像攝影
March 3rd, 2019類型: Interview, Meeting NML
作者: Tenn, Bun-ki , Jeffrey Lim 編輯: Tenn, Bun-ki
出處: 群島資料庫Nusantara Archive
「《數位荒原》駐站暨群島資料庫計劃」2019年很高興再度邀請曾以《Kanta Portraits: Taiwan》計劃參與《邊境旅行》展覽的馬來西亞藝術家林猶進,他曾拍攝許多台灣的原住民部落。這些田野拍攝也引發我們對於檔案工作和早期日本人類學者所建立的分類系統及觀看方式的好奇。在這篇訪談裡,藝術家首次面對類型影像與其工作手法的比較閱讀,而這些差異也帶出了原住民如何理解影像再現的意義,以及將來可能的群島系譜進路等討論。
Jeffrey Lim, "Kanta Portraits: Taiwan", PETAMU Project (2018); photo: Chen Chia-Jen

鄭文琦《群島資料庫》總是邀請來自不同國家的不同藝術家。你來過台灣四次,但我們以前沒有訪問過你。《Kanta Portraits: Taiwan》計劃可以引發出許多問題,假如我們想要從現有基礎深入下一階段。一方面台灣原住民的影像—不論是流行或學院領域—都可以追溯到十九世紀,當最早日本人類學家如鳥居龍藏透過箱型攝影機,將攝影術應用在他們的研究對象上時。另一方面還是可以看到許多大眾文化的原住民影像,例如在商業廣告、劇場、電影或者明信片上。然而,這些形象多少再現歷史學者陳偉智在〈攝影作為民族誌方法:日治臺灣殖民地人類學的寫真檔案〉裡所說的「殖民檔案的原住民影像」。(註1)

林猶進(Jeffrey Lim:沒錯⋯在早些時候我們只有箱型攝影機,而他們沖印相片的程序幾乎都和我們一樣,都必須在現場拍照,然後在玻璃片上處理。他們沒有使用膠卷,不是在濕板(wet plate)就是在乾板(dry plate)上曝光。乾板攝影是指他們可以將玻璃片帶回暗處,然後在別的地方繼續沖洗成影像。至於濕板是指他們必須在現場進行處理,但通常隔著不遠的距離。這也發生馬來西亞的歷史上,像是在蘇格蘭攝影師約翰.湯普森(John Tompson)旅行到遠東地區之時。從1860年代到1870年代,他為紀錄片拍攝了超過六百張,從錫蘭、印度,通過東南亞到中南半島、香港、澳門和中國,甚至福爾摩沙。這趟旅程在各地區都是他所首次拍攝紀錄。

 

我想要從這篇討論開始溝通,因為我們所見的事物取決於我們所站的位置。假如這些受過西方訓練的攝影師(或「帝國的凝視」)形塑了我們對於原住民的想像,那我們要如何發展關於原住民攝影的不同觀點?還有,你的實踐何以不同於以往這些箱型攝影機的實踐者?另一個問題是,驅動你從馬來西亞來到台灣的研究動機又是什麼?

事實上,許多在日治時代存在的照片非常不同於現今的照片,像是服裝等等,而且其文化也面臨劇變。因為這就是時間所致,文化改變,不會一成不變。如果你看過殖民檔案,和現在的部落人們比較起來,它們看起來也不一樣。問題是,文化總是可變動的,就算是原住民來說。假如你查閱200年前殖民檔案裡的半島原住民照片,它們會和你現在遇到的不同。某方面而言,這證實了文化總是會自我再發明,它會根據外在而改變,例如:日本人或其他的影響。

 

Interview with Syaman Fengayan on his ancestral farming land, Lanyu (Orchid Island, 2018); courtesy of artist

我想說那些正是我們最初認識種族的圖像記憶。我們不直接認識這些人,而是一開始就從殖民檔案看見他們的形象。這正是我認為指出這為何重要。假如我們不知道這件事,或許就輕易受到殖民者如何觀看原住民族的影響。你可稍微談談你如何作出差異,還有你的實踐如何不同於早期實踐者(使用相同的再現技術)。當然你們的目的不同,他們服務於政府的蕃地調查—儘管他們也有自身的學院關注。要如何變得不同?

這嘛,我拍攝的某些照片是在不同背景下進行。以馬太鞍的大頭目為例,光是他的相片就照了三次。首先是穿一般服裝,上教堂穿的襯衫和長褲。然後,他穿著正式的、傳統的裝扮。雖然是同一人,但照片展示出他們必須與之共存的身份雙元性。或許另一層實踐是,他們會保留原來肖像,這是很不一樣的,銀鹽相紙被呈交到他們手上。我們也有錄音檔,我還在發展這些不同情境的各種面向。

 

Jeffrey Lim, fieldwork for "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

:你的藝術實踐涉及許多層次,不只是拍攝照片,還包括製作自己的攝影機。你會帶箱型攝影機到部落裡進行示範操作,然後你會沖洗照片,和拍攝對象聊天,並和他們交換照片與個人訊息。你也會舉辦發表或展覽,不過觀眾只會看見結果,而在《邊境旅行》的觀眾甚至忽略抽屜裡的相片。在這些計劃裡,你更聚焦於過程而非最後結果。

對我來說攝影就是過程,結果只是副產品。因為它涵蓋那個經驗拍攝肖像與實地沖印過程的個人。當人像拍攝時,他們會看見相紙如何顯影,再到他們手上,那是真實的交流。這經驗是重要的,作品展示給觀眾看只是這過程的副產品。然而我也在思考不只展示人像,還有許多採用書寫的文字故事,這是最後的成果。我還在探索如何呈現理念或人類學的觀念轉換,和如何研究身份認同。所以,我確實是使用這些人像、他們的文化和我對他們的詮釋,作為說明我們傳統文化遭逢改變的個案分析;這些是關於過程中的概念探索。

 

看見你的作品被單獨呈現時,和你與其他人合作時的方式之間差異,是很有意思的。你總是會找到熟悉本地原住民社群的人士合作,這肯定也關係我們如何取得支持或資助。對我來說,你的實踐是非常直觀的;儘管你很擅長闡明你的方法如攝影或其他媒介,你仍直觀地結合多種必要步驟。

和別人合作是很重要的。在馬來西亞,我總會試著跟認識或來自當地社群的某個人連結或合作。我們會產生一個社會連結—這也是為了尊重對方文化。在台灣,《邊境旅行》計劃是我第一次實際跟原住民藝術家Josak Jodian共同探索和創作,特別是踏上她的發現旅程。而我也想將這種方法帶回到馬來西亞。

 

Syaman Fengayan (郭建平) & Syaman Mangamed, Lanyu Island; activist, farmer and his son (2018); courtesy of artist

如果真是如此,那是否該問你是不是跟Posak合作重要嗎?又或者說,可以反問為什麼非得去某部落不可?

這正是為什麼我並非處理特定部落,重點是某個來自部落的藝術家的情境。這麼說,這個計劃是關於Posak,它可以是阿美族、Pangcah或泰雅,但重點是「她」和她馬大鞍與小碧潭的家人、社群,他們如何從花蓮來到小碧潭。它不是特別關於特定部落的攝影檔案,而是他們如何於不同時空裡妥協。它凸顯某些協商、認同變遷,或部落如何維繫於變動的社群或原生場所的生活等⋯即我最終在台灣生產的內容。當然台灣決定我在馬來西亞的計劃前文本。某方面來說,台灣成為我與馬來西亞部落人們的計劃參照點,它將只是參照點,但兩者不需有直接的人類學連結。我好奇文化連結、社會情境,也想多知道他們如何協商。這樣當我在馬來西亞再次執行才有必要—為了發現期間的模式。

 

Jeffrey Lim, fieldwork for "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

以下為進駐對談內容我們看見日本人有系統地創建「蕃人」或原住民的「官方民族誌」。一方面伊能嘉矩根據「族」建構台灣全島的八族原住民分類法,包括泰雅、布農、鄒、查利先(魯凱)、排灣、卑南、阿美、平埔—加上鳥居龍藏在蘭嶼研究的雅美族就是九族(後來森丑之助提出六族分類法);另一方面類型影像(type photograph)被人類學家用來「形成當時知識建構的重要民族誌方法」。以森丑之助的《臺灣蕃族志第一卷》(1917)為例,這種分類附上代表各族的男女正面和側面照。我們如何避免這樣傳統上未留意的原住民「觀看方法」,當我們剛好也在同樣的社群拍攝時?依據調查變異難度的程度,人類學家認為「體質特徵」被認為最不容易因時間或環境的變因而改變。因此,假如我們仍然使用攝影機作為認識的工具,是否表示我們不可免除各族的人類體質差異—這可能導致某種排除或對原住民的本質式理解?

鳥居龍藏的照相機可能柯達箱型Box Camera 1,這台機器非常基礎,因為當時這是第一台普通使用者能買到的相機,當時沒人能買便利使用者相機—但它並非專業設備,倒是挺有趣的。

我有很多想回應陳偉智的文章。關於身份認同的解構,還有現在人們如何引導自身的認同。(我是覺得單純作為訪談比較好,因為我們沒有時間思考太多,而且我的答案比較主觀和自發。)我的思考在2018年的Skype訪談後又有所演進,我之後去日本的四國進駐,Posak完成她的影像,我們也一起完成一次展覽。這不是我會和大家討論的方式,因為我還在思考。最近看《京都好博學》(2018/12/15~2019/2/24)展覽對我正如這些提問般警醒,《京都好博學》是關於他們如何使之文明的方法學和嘗試,對我來說,它相當程度回答了問題,因為他們使用如西方的相同方法學。相機只是另一個工具,就像他們用以科學地學習和分類的所有工具。他們用相機來系統性的差異化,所以這就是這種方法學的侷限;侷限就是衝突。當他們採用了這種西方形式,他們就犯了和西方相同的錯誤,即利用既有的工具,進行殖民、區隔和分類。

 

printing their portraits in an open darkroom for Syaman Lamuran (董恩慈) & Sinan Lamuran (謝鳳英), Lanyu Island (2018); photo courtesy of artist

從現在到歷史,民族誌資料的調查方向雖然有所調整,但是人種分類與族群起源的問題,以及與周邊的其他島嶼原住民的比較民族學的研究傾向,則是一以貫之地延續著。」(陳偉智)最新關於南島語族的起源地在台灣的學說,常常被許多藝術家的實踐所體認並挪用著,這也就是原住民族在台灣成為許多藝術計劃主題的原因;然而它也提醒我們刻意闡述同化作用之必要性的風險。這使我想到在1920年代,不少日本人相信「馬來人種」是日本南部與「高砂族」(即後來對「蕃人」的稱呼)的共同起源。那也是竹越與三郎在1910年的《南國記》裡主張的必須認識「南方」的理由:「他們血液的一部份混入我南方臣民的脈管之中。(註2)

然而,因為我來自非常不同的背景,相機對我來說並不是相同的「工具」。我在這裡的應用是非常不同於他們的研究實踐,意圖完全不同。他們如何研究受到了民族誌的侷限。他們總是從自身文化去看部落,在這層意義上他們在看部落之前已經存有刻板印象,或者說某種偏見。在一開始,他們稱呼原住民為「蕃人」(雖然我對這詞有所疑惑)—在歐洲,他們也說「野蠻人」(barbarian),因為他們沒有「文明」的生活。接著又稱之為「高砂」,這一詞也展現了更多尊重,但還是某種形式的操作。

 

Jeffrey Lim, "KANTA Portraits: Taiwan" (2018); photo courtesy of artist

這是否表示對我們來說不依循既有的傳承是重要的?

應該說我們必須質疑它。這裡的預期是,這些照相又是拍給誰呢?誰擁有這種形式的圖像?這種圖像形式只是一種再現形式。某些原住民有自己的方式處理自我如何再現自身的(視覺)形式,通過線條描繪、通過圖騰製作,攝影只是另一種形式。攝影就是一種西方的觀看形式。原住民也有自身的形式。我的作品裡已經開始銜接不同的向度:錄製聲音。Luc會錄音 (註3),Posak會錄影。這是另一種媒介。我們合作觀察不同的文化身份再現,不只是通過照片。照片只是最終成品,但過程才是重要的,當我們提出問題,理解這些問題出自何種情境⋯即身份認同面向時。

 

我發現不同的是人類學者沒有「輕便」錄音設備。所以最後,我們仍然要來談談技術或媒體,我的意思是技術的演化會影響我們如何看待對象,而對象也適應了技術。我更感興趣於你如何使這樣的相遇過程再次「神秘化」,因為你不依賴隨手可得的工具,反之,你需要許多操作步驟:如擺姿勢,修正設備,手動補光等等。或者說使熟悉的事物「陌生化」。

 

Printed portrait hung on the main wall of their family home, Temiar tribe of Pos Piah village, Upper Perak, Malaysia. Photo courtesy of artist.

有的,手造相機對他們很新鮮,因為他們從來沒看過,所以這有助於創造某種銜接。它也是「具象化」的參照,關於我如何將他們的存有具象化在一張相紙上。這種連結是重要的,因為我給他們「可觸知的自我」。有時候,人們想要獲得肖像,這種再現的形象也是某種形式性(formality)。它更是系統/官方所認可的身份形式,因為這就是攝影。

 

當然,我們的研究是關於不同島嶼上的不同原住民,更指向我們所共享的地方性、攝影,以及馬來群島製圖的新敘事。我相信在攝影的身份再現,以及如你所說的官方認可之間,將來還有更多探索的空間!

Footnote
註1. 見陳偉智,〈攝影作為民族誌方法:日治臺灣殖民地人類學的寫真檔案(一)〉。
註2. 「⋯此馬來人種居住於與大日本帝國南端相望之地,儘管他們血液的一部份混入我南方 臣民的脈管之中,我國人卻把這擱置一旁,對他們馬來人的理解相當少,卻徒然談論歐美、中國為多,這豈不是求之高遠而失之卑近嗎。」見竹越與三郎,《南國記》頁2-3。亦見蔡耀緯,〈浪人游臺灣—哈利.法蘭克和他的《日本與福爾摩沙一瞥》〉。「魯特(E. Owen Rutter)和法蘭克(Harry Alverson Franck)同時提及⋯臺灣原住民來自馬來半島。魯特引用學術研究和早期西方探險家的紀錄,指出臺灣原住民語言與婆羅洲部族語言及馬來語近似之處,並勾勒他們數千年來從上緬甸遷徙到交趾支那和馬來半島,在被當地民族驅趕而航行海上,最終來到臺灣的軌跡(Owen Rutter, Through Formosa; 1921);法蘭克的旅行見聞則提及臺灣原住民的外貌與日本南方島民並無差別,連日本人都無法分辨,進而推論出臺灣原住民與日本人同樣源自馬來人(Harry A. Franck, Glimpse of Japan and Formosa; 1924)。 」但現今人類學已推翻此說。
註3. 陳姿華,屏東霧台魯凱族,於臺灣自製相機進行影像拍攝。2018年與林猶進合作「Kanta Portraits : 霧台 」計劃,並於空場展出。