Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
Who Will Help Us When We Grow Old and Suck? (Toward the Uninhabited Islands)
當我們又老又遜的時候,誰來幫助我們?(駛向無人可居之島)
October 4th, 2021Type: Residency
Author: Irwen Ahmett, Tita Salina, 林易萱 (Trans) Editor: Wu, Ting-kuan
Note: As the largest muslim and the fourth most populous country in the world after US, the Republic of Indonesia will celebrate 100 years of independence in 2045. The gift of its 100-years-anniversary is a new burden on its shoulders as it possesses an aging population. This article is the research proposal by Indonesian artist duo Irwan Ahmet and Tita Salina for TWINNING ARCHIPELAGO: 2021 Nusantara Archive Virtual A-I-R Program, originally titled as “Aging Nusantara". They will apply the methodology of demography as the research tool, reflect on the population change due to the national history and conflict in Nusantara. In the end they will embody the local governance, the ethical population management technology and the forecast of future Nusantara.
Nyi Brayut & Ki Brayut, two wayang kulit figurines that are rarely played nowadays. These two depict typical Javanese society of the role of the mother and father as the fertility spring but loaded with dualism philosophy of the dilemmatic meaning of family narration which is the happiness and the misery.

The world’s order is not by the right or the left but by identity. (Francis Fukuyama)

A Curse in Diversity

Indonesia has gained its demographic bonus for more than a decade as its population of productive age is above the non-productive age for all the time. The islands that were once sparsely populated are cramming rapidly now without adequate environmental impact calculations, while the abundance of the productive age population floats like foam waves that are tempting to be managed as cadres of political parties, mass organizations or to become Chinese marketplace targets. The Cultural integration between local people and migrants often creates another new color layer to the beautiful archipelago rainbow, but the acculturation doesn’t always offer a happy ending that looks like pseudo-nationalism worshippers’ historical nostalgia as It’s apparent to see that how the stronger identity groups often impose their norms unilaterally and narrowly in daily life.

Eventually, this behavior is not only applied to majority groups but also minority groups experiencing racist identity stigma consciously and if they don’t practice it, the stigma will be exacerbated. In the pockets of racial trauma in North Jakarta, social illness thrives in the name of legitimacy of economic superiority. Surveillance walls full of suspicious and dislikes to other groups stigmatized with poor, filth, lazy and having bad intentions. The political identity that’s threatening Nusantara democracy is a social illness nesting throughout Jambret di Kapitalistiwa(註1).

Is this social illness a curse in diversity?

 

The Empire of the Apes

The values of tribalism initially functioned as securing/protecting natural resources or the group member, however, the population growth that was beyond control had triggered sparks from friction or collision of other values. As a reflection on the tribal wars that occur among the hunter-gatherers in Papua, they develop a post conflict reconciliation mechanism in order to carry on farming and harvesting. Or does it mean that even if this value comes from instinctive aggressive domination, it can also be regarded as a task subject to natural biology, that is, to produce offspring?

How far this reconciliation of conflict strategy from tribalism roots is subsumed under to stutter towards globalization that is ready to pounce? It seems that the bonds of economy and identity can still be used effectively. As a Sundanese, Irwan was well accepted by the illegal migrant workers from West Java in South Korea although he expected to be welcomed just as a human. From this point, it could be seen that national identity is only lip service. Ethnicity has more of a role to build mutual trust in culture, local football clubs, religions and even fiction. Conflicts that triggered mostly by testosterone and alcohol among the migrant workers often resolved by adat (custom) held by leaders from each ethnic group rather than legal means. All at once, Irwan thought he was on top of a collective identity of inner-self tower that is super sensitive when disturbed and could explode when harassed. 

As the self-portrait is the starting step a society is admitted as legal identity, the state creates a mechanism of surveillance to a personal image that is accepted in almost all administrative matters. Irwan and Tita collect thousands of digital photographs from an amateur photo shop in a small town in Java while coding technology is increasingly eroding the area of privacy.

In the era when sultans, princes and elites’ empires dominated the power in Java, these people made a coalition among them by sex and determined descendants. They usurped the rights of the slaves for the sake of a more superior political dynasty. In the end, the noble goal was not more than land occupation. When the Dutch colonists arrived, these elites became the puppets lust for power, became the king controlled by the Governor-General’s power in Batavia. Is the Javanese bias in Indonesia’s modern political circle like a proverb – like an ape gets a flower?(註2) In the ape’s world in the last forest we discovered during our walking project in North Jakarta, dozens of long-tailed monkey (Macaca fascicularis) colonies live in the remaining little living space there. Due to land conversion, their space is increasingly squeezed and in a constant state of crisis. They have no choice but to hang on to life under the noise of commercial jet engines that have been frequently falling into the Java sea. Miraculously these monkeys maintain the reconciliation culture after the fight for power which they bit and claw, angry with jealousy or fighting over because of very limited food. These monkeys are also used to be fed with food enhancer meals when begging to pedestrians so threat of obesity could occur to them (not far different from the Javanese puppet kings).

On a national scale, the reconciliation process is based on economical interest and identity. It’s proven to be effective in covering old wounds among ‘one blood nation’. The cold war period (Indonesia-Malaysia confrontation) which young people were brainwashed and sent to meet god of death in Kalimantan tropical forests, then Abracadabra! Today, Malaysia is one of the favorite ‘ATMs’ of Indonesian migrant workers (the number is the highest from other countries). One of the reasons Malaysia becomes a destination country to them is the similarities of ethnic and religion. But we should look at the high numbers of BMI (Indonesian migrant workers) who went missing or never return home from Malaysia and how often unidentified dead bodies are found in the Straits of Malacca during the border patrol control.

What are our similarities and differences with apes?

The Heir Who Ran Away

The abundance of demographic dividends in Indonesia go hand in hand with the aging population that occurs in Asia such as Taiwan, Thailand, Japan, South Korea and Hong Kong. Poor young people! The quality of human resources in Indonesia has not been compensated by the increase in the number of young people. Developed countries which worshipped economic progress and faced depopulation threat have taken a shortcut by ‘importing’ humans from economically relatively weaker countries with abundant human resources. This situation might quickly turn around, become hard to contain, when the number of elderly in 2045 is predicted to be 60 million in Indonesia. Do Indonesian people who still believe in superstitions be able to overcome it? Will gotong royong and collectivism, which has now lost its meaning, still be considered as a magic potion for all problems?

The Japanese were not so keen to accept the decision to bring in immigrants from Nusantara, the area that had been captured from the Europeans in WWII. When the flag of the rising sun flies in Nusantara, the people are forced to work and sacrifice their lives in the name of the glory identity of the Asian continent.

Ultimately, money talks. Money is their primary motivation for leaving their hometown and beloved family to spend the productive age by working abroad. For now this might be a win-win solution for both labor exporting and importing countries. A young migrant worker in his 20s whom I met in Gimhae, South Korea bought an iPhone with TikTok app on the screen with his first salary in installment. To reflect wayang epic stories, dreams are quite often the opposite of reality. The option to migrate often bequeaths endless problems, for example child marriage that happens to the children of migrant workers, poor management of income that caused them keep returning and pawning their life abroad to the hands of trafficking mafia/agent who always welcome them with open arms. Those agents are always ready to export Nusantara people who are already addicted to being paid in foreign currency. What will their children think when they grow old? perhaps not only high values passed down to next generations, but also residue of mythology, identity hallucination, violence and even resentment.

Until 1930 Java was still the largest producer of the sugar industry in the world. The northern coast of Java which was developed by colonialism in order to master Nusantara is moving toward industrialisation. However, the fundamental elements such as high unemployment rate become hard to imagine the future of one of the most dynamic regions in culture in Nusantara.

Do we still memorize the lyrics of the national anthem as a national identity when our brain ability is degeneratively declining?

 

Identity Weapon

When Irwan was a student in the early 1990’s, he always felt insecure when going out. He tricked his fear of being a crime target by keeping money in socks, carrying a folding knife or sharpened Staedtler grade HB pencil in his pocket. This could be triggered from his long trauma due to a bad experience when someone stuck a knife to his neck. His roommate managed to control the situation after he negotiated by using his local dialect when a local thug approached him near Monas (National Monument) . He eventually found that the thug came from the same place as he was in East Java.

The Pandavas with their weapons of destruction from the incarnation of gods always be prepared with all possibilities. For the gods, what kind of trauma do they have?

In the national defense strategy, the names of gods’ weapons become symbols of military and state-owned weapon factories which are ready to eliminate rival ideologies.

History has proven the power of a country is its population. In some important events in the world that have changed the territory such as referendum or war, population is an absolutely needed factor. Not long after Timor Leste got its independence from Indonesia annexation, the new sovereign state realized it needed a young population as the carrier of new identity due to the high number of mortality and massive exodus during the war of independence in 1999.

The large number of productive age populations in Europe was one of the reasons why World War II lasted very long. While in the East, the holy mission of ‘big brother’ (Japan) in conquering Southeast Asia was so heroic as well as cruel because it was conducted by very young death squads with total compliance without compromise.

No matter how absurd & cruel, myths are fundamental to identity within the diversity of this archipelagic nation. Instead of looking to the future, the founders construct past culture from a long-forgotten belief.

The martyrs or suicide bombers from extremist groups were promised a ticket to heaven, so they lost their life at productive age. Contradictory reasons to our cousin Homo erectus in the Last Glacial period, their lifespan was not long, in average they lived until the 30s. Their fossils indicated that they were not the same as Homo sapiens who are obsessed with eternal life. Unfortunately, this ancient humans’ paradise has become a hell decorated by disasters, called Java island.

Deforestation and political turmoil in West Papua tangled along with Melanesian identity, while Melanesian identity has also been conflicted with state identity as the weapon. Hate speech, death threats and racist expression spewed from the foaming mouths of the nationalists. ‘Monkey’ or ‘uncivilized humans’ is a mockery of the Papuan that can be heard from politicians or influencers with thousands of followers backed by the rulers. Unfortunately, people don’t always accept reality from scientific evidence. Through genetic findings, tribes of Papua are the first wave of Homo sapiens migrated from Africa 50,000 to 70,000 years ago. The recent research finding said that the genetics of tribes of Papua, New Guinea and Aborigine in Australia have the evolution line from hominids in the far north – now Siberia, called: Denisovan. Nusantara people are indicated originally from the northern side 5,000 years ago. They are in waves with advanced farming skills. The war of independence in Papua involves not only racial identity pressure and racial violence, but also robots and artificial intelligence that are inhuman and do not need to be understood and recognized.

What is the future of identity and population as the population declines and the control of ethically problematic technology increases in Nusantara?

 

Population Correction

Indonesia has faced the fears of an exploding population accompanied by food insufficiency. As Indonesia is an agricultural and maritime society, people there have the norm of having many children to lessen daily workload. The term “many children, lots of sustenance” has been successfully changed through the huge success propaganda of family planning programs since the 1980s. In remote islands, the New Order regime, involving the military, was suspected of castrating the poor and low-educated population. Today, even the legacy of Javanization of Nusantara in southern Sumatra has left bloody horizontal conflict. As an archipelago country with an incredible amount of diversity, Indonesia requires big power to form unity whether the angels or demons are involved in the development.

As a maritime agriculture nation, we see muscle strength & communal cooperation in sacrificial slaughter of buffalo heads which is also a melting point and archaic manifestation to negotiate with the invisible power. We did a decapitation symbolically on the Java Sea as a sacrifice for the moving of capital from Jakarta to East Kalimantan as the lighthouse, considered competent to navigate the ark of Nusantara. Somehow it would carry disasters to indigenous & biodiversity of tropical archipelago.

Disasters certainly have a significant impact on the population. There were 1,779 disasters recorded from January to August in 2021. Either the eruption of Krakatoa in the Dutch East Indies era in 1883, or the population extinction in West Nusa Tenggara due to the eruption of Mount Tambora in 1815 brought deaths to the heavenly tropical islands. The death toll of catastrophic tsunamis in Aceh, Palu and Donggala often reinforces old narratives that are suspected of rising from powerlessness,where at a certain point, in that place, there were too large and sinful populations, and nature need to make corrections through a pandemic or large-scale natural disaster.

As the largest muslim and the fourth most populous country in the world after US, the Republic of Indonesia will celebrate 100 years of independence in 2045. The gift of its 100-years-anniversary is a new burden on its shoulders as it possesses an aging population. Without good strategy it would affect  the geopolitical turmoil in other Asian countries which are suspected to be aging together seriously. Khidr is described by various Islamic and non-Islamic in the Middle East and Nusantara as a messenger, a holy man, is able to read the future and was said to be an immortal from Moses to today. If I could meet Khidr in my dream, I would ask one question:

Who is going to help us when we grow old and sucks? 

Should we ask for help from the buffalo again? As this successfully domesticated yet magnificent species brought humans in Nusantara from hunter-gatherer to agriculture society. As in the digital era today the mythological stories of this animal are never old or outdated.

Footnote
[1] This is an Indonesian plesetan (wordplay) punning on a popular and romantic sobriquet for the Indonesian archipelago (untaian batu zamrud di khatulistiwa or a “string of pearls along the equator”). Irwan Ahmett and Tita Salina revise this sobriquet to become Jambret di Kapitalistiwa—“the bag-snatchers of capitalism” where the bag-snatchers refer to the Indonesian economic and political oligarchy who pillage their own people and ravage the country they romanticise with such nationalistic fervour.
[2] This is originally an Indonesian proverb, “Seperti Kera Mendapat Bunga.”

Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
Who Will Help Us When We Grow Old and Suck? (Toward the Uninhabited Islands)
當我們又老又遜的時候,誰來幫助我們?(駛向無人可居之島)
October 4th, 2021類型: Residency
作者: Irwen Ahmett, Tita Salina, 林易萱 (Trans) 編輯: 吳庭寬
「作為世界上最大的穆斯林國家和僅次於美國的第四大人口大國,印尼共和國將於2045年慶祝獨立100週年。隨著人口老齡化,100週年紀念日的禮物將是一個新的負擔。」這篇文章為印尼藝術家組合Irwan Ahmett與Tita Salina,參與2021年間「群島資料庫」所發起的「TWINNING ARCHIPELAGO(又譯:雙生群島)」駐站計畫所進行的「老年化印尼群島/馬來世界」(Aging Nusantara)提案研究。在文章中他們從統計學人口紅利為出發點,回顧馬來世界因國族歷史和衝突所引發的人口消長,最後他們也將涵蓋對區域治理、科技人口管控的倫理與對未來的預測。
Nyi Brayut & Ki Brayut, two wayang kulit figurines that are rarely played nowadays. These two depict typical Javanese society of the role of the mother and father as the fertility spring but loaded with dualism philosophy of the dilemmatic meaning of family narration which is the happiness and the misery.

世界的秩序不是由右派或左派而是由身分决定的。(法蘭西斯.福山)

 

多樣性的詛咒

印尼在這十多年來一直享受著人口紅利,其適齡人口一直高於非適齡人口。而這個曾經人烟稀少的島嶼如今在沒有進行足够的環境衝擊計算之下迅速擁擠起來。對這個地方來說,豐富的適齡人口就像泡沫波一樣漂浮,輕易地成為政黨與群眾組織的幹部,或成為中國的市場目標。當地人和移民之間的文化融合常常為美麗的群島彩虹創造另一個新的色彩塗層,但文化融合並不總會給予像是偽民族主義崇拜者眼中歷史懷舊的幸福結局,因為顯而易見的是,更强的身分群體往往在日常生活中單方面和狹隘地強化他們的行為規範。

最終,這種行為不僅適用於多數群體,也適用於有意識地遭受種族主義身分污名的少數群體。如果這些少數群體不這麼做,這種污名將會加劇。在雅加達北部,社會疾病以經濟優越性之中的合法性為名肆虐於種族創傷地帶。被監視的牆充滿了對其他群體的懷疑和厭惡。這些群體被他們污蔑為貧窮、骯髒、懶惰和充滿惡意的。威脅馬來世界(Nusantara)民主的政治認同就像是一種社會疾病,籠罩在卡普利斯塔瓦的各個角落 (註1)

這種社會疾病是多樣性的詛咒嗎?

 

猿人帝國

部落主義的價值觀最初起到保護自然資源或群體成員的作用,然而,人口無法控制地增長卻激發了價值之間的互相摩擦與碰撞。作為對巴布亞狩獵採集者之間發生的部落戰爭的反思,當地人建立了衝突後和解機制,以便繼續耕種和收割。或者說,這是否就意味著,就算這種價值觀來自於侵略性統治的本能,也可以被視為自然生物學裡標識的任務,也就是生產後代?

這種從部落主義根源上調和衝突的策略,究竟能有多大程度上被納入汲汲營營的全球化進程當中?看來「經濟」和「身分認同」之間的紐帶仍然可以有效地相互利用。作為一名巽他人,伊旺在韓國受到了來自西爪哇島的非法移民工人的歡迎,儘管他希望自己能像一般人一樣被看待。但從這一點上可以看出,國家認同只是一種口頭。事實上,種族在建立文化、在地足球俱樂部、宗教甚至小說中相互信任方面發揮著很大的作用。移民工人之間主要由睾酮和酒精引發的衝突通常通過各民族領導人持有的adat(習俗)而非法律手段來解决。伊旺(Irwan)猛然地意識到自己就像是站在一個集體內在自我之塔的頂端。這個高塔在受到干擾時會變得非常敏感,而在受到騷擾時則可能會爆炸。

As the self-portrait is the starting step a society is admitted as legal identity, the state creates a mechanism of surveillance to a personal image that is accepted in almost all administrative matters. Irwan and Tita collect thousands of digital photographs from an amateur photo shop in a small town in Java while coding technology is increasingly eroding the area of privacy.

在蘇丹、王子和菁英君王主宰爪哇權力的時代,他們總是通過性與後嗣結盟。他們會為了一個更優越的政治王朝而篡奪奴隸的權利。最終,這些貴族的目標並只不過是要佔領土地。當荷蘭殖民者到來時,這些精英們成為渴望權力的傀儡,成為巴達維亞總督權力控制下的國王。印尼現代政治圈中的那些對爪哇人的偏見是否正如一句馬來諺語—就像猿猴獲得花朵?(註2) 我們在雅加達北部執行步行計畫時發現的最後一片森林中的猿類世界,有幾十個長尾猴(食蟹猴)群體生活在森林裡剩餘且狹小的生存空間。由於土地轉換,它們的空間日益受到擠壓,並且也持續處於危機狀態。這些猿猴們別無選擇,只能在頻繁墜入爪哇海的商用噴氣式發動機的譟音下繼續生活。不過奇迹般的是,這些猴子在為爭奪權力而咬牙切齒、憤怒嫉妒或因食物有限而爭鬥之後,仍然保持著和解的文化。在向行人乞討時,這些猴子也會被餵食食物增強劑,因此肥胖的威脅也有可能會發生在她們身上(與爪哇傀儡國王沒有太大區別)。

在全國範圍內,「和解」的過程以經濟利益和身分認同作為為基礎。事實證明,它能有效地覆蓋「一個血族」的舊創傷。冷戰時期(也是印尼—馬來西亞對峙時期),年輕人被洗腦並被送到加里曼丹熱帶森林去見死神,然後是Abracadabra(魔法咒語)!如今,馬來西亞變成了印尼移工最喜愛的「提款機」之一(這統計數字是眾多國家中最高的)。馬來西亞成為他們的目的地的原因是兩地擁有很高的種族和宗教相似性。不過我們仍舊應該看看那些大量失踪或是從未從馬來西亞回家的印尼移民工人,以及邊境巡邏控制期間內在麻六甲海峽發現不明屍體的頻率。

我們跟猿猴的相似與相異之處究竟是什麼?

 

出走的後繼者

印尼獲得豐富的人口紅利的現象其實與臺灣、泰國、日本、韓國和香港等亞洲地區的人口老齡化問題齊頭並進。可憐的年輕人!印尼的人力資源質量並未因爲年輕人數量增加而得到改善。崇尚經濟進步、面臨人口减少威脅的已開發國家似乎走了一條捷徑,也就是從經濟相對較弱勢、人力資源較為豐富的國家「進口」人口。當2045年印尼的老年人口預計將達到六千萬時,這種情況可能會迅速扭轉,並變得難以控制。依舊迷信的印尼人能克服迷信嗎?現在已經失去意義的gotong royong(印尼文,意為分工合作)和集體主義還會被視為解决所有問題的靈丹妙藥嗎?

日本人不太願意接受從馬來群島引進移民的决定,馬來群島也是二戰中被歐洲人佔領的地區。當旭日的旗幟在馬來世界升起時,當地人被迫以大東亞共榮圈的榮耀身分來工作和犧牲自己的生命。

然而,金錢終究萬能。金錢是印尼移工離開家鄉和心愛的家人到國外工作度過生產年齡的動機。如今,這可能是勞動力輸出國和輸入國雙贏的解決方案。我在韓國金海遇到一位20多歲的年輕移工,他用分期付款購買了一部銀幕上有TikTok應用軟體的iPhone。對照皮影戲(wayang)裡的史詩故事,夢想往往與現實相反。選擇移徙往往帶來無盡的問題,例如移工子女的童婚問題、收入管理不善而導致他們不斷往返,並將他們的生活抵押在那些張開手臂歡迎他們的人口販運黑手黨/仲介手中。這些仲介隨時準備出口那些已經沉迷於外幣支付的馬來世界之人。他們的孩子長大後會怎麼想?也許不僅僅是將這樣的價值傳給下一代,還有神話、身分幻覺、暴力甚至仇恨的殘餘。

Until 1930 Java was still the largest producer of the sugar industry in the world. The northern coast of Java which was developed by colonialism in order to master Nusantara is moving toward industrialisation. However, the fundamental elements such as high unemployment rate become hard to imagine the future of one of the most dynamic regions in culture in Nusantara.

當我們的大腦能力退化時,我們是否仍將國歌歌詞作為一種國家認同來記憶?

 

身分武器

當伊旺在1990年代初還是一名學生時,他外出時總是感到不安。他把錢放在襪子裏,口袋裏帶著折疊刀或削尖的Staedtler HB級鉛筆,以此來掩飾自己對成為犯罪目標的恐懼。這可能是因為有人曾經用刀刺傷了他的脖子而導致的長期創傷。當一名當地暴徒在MONAS(國家紀念碑)附近接近他時,他的室友通過使用當地方言與暴徒進行談判,最後成功控制了局面。而他最終發現這個暴徒來自東爪哇的同一個地方。

般度族擁有來自眾神化身的毀滅性武器,並時刻準備迎接一切的可能性。對諸神來說,他們又會有什麼樣的創傷?

在國防戰略中,神的武器名稱成為軍隊和國有武器廠的象徵,並且準備消除敵對方的意識形態。

歷史已經向人們證明,一個國家的力量在於它的人口。在世界上一些改變領土的重大事件中,例如公民投票或戰爭,人口是絕對重要的因素。東帝汶從印尼吞併中獲得獨立後不久,這個新的主權國家就意識到,基於1999年獨立戰爭期間的高死亡率和大規模流亡,它極需要年輕人作為新身分的載體。

歐洲大量的適齡人口是第二次世界大戰持續很長時間的原因之一。而在東方,老大哥(日本)征服東南亞的神聖使命既英勇又殘酷,因為它是由非常年輕的行刑隊毫無妥協且完全服從地執行的專案。

No matter how absurd & cruel, myths are fundamental to identity within the diversity of this archipelagic nation. Instead of looking to the future, the founders construct past culture from a long-forgotten belief.

來自極端組織的烈士或自殺式炸彈手得到了通往天堂的門票,因此他們在生產年齡就失去了生命。與我們的近親,也就是直立人相反的是,在最後一次冰河時期,他們的壽命並不長,平均才活到30多歲。他們的化石表明了他們與癡迷於永生的智人不同。但是不幸的是,這個古代的人類天堂變成了一個被災難妝點的地獄,叫做「爪哇島」。

巴布亞西部的森林砍伐和政治動盪與美拉尼西亞人的身分認同糾纏在一起,而美拉尼西亞人的個人認同也與作為武器的國家認同相互衝突。仇恨言論、死亡威脅和種族主義言論從民族主義者口中吐出。「猴子」或「未開化的人類」是那些政客或擁有數千名追隨者的人對巴布亞人的嘲弄。不幸的是,人們並不總是接受科學證據中的現實。通過基因發現,巴布亞部落是5萬至7萬年前從非洲遷徙的第一批智人。最近的研究發現表明,巴布亞、新幾內亞和澳大利亞土著部落的基因進化路線與遙遠北方(現在的西伯利亞)名為丹尼索瓦人(Denisovan)的原始人類相同。馬來世界的人類最初是在五千年前從北邊過來的,他們當時就有先進的農業技術。巴布亞獨立戰爭不僅涉及種族認同壓力和種族暴力,更是牽涉到那些沒有人性、不需要被理解和被認同的機器人與人工智慧。

隨著馬來世界人口减少和具有倫理問題的科技技術對人的控制增加,身分認同和人口的未來是什麼?

 

人口校正

印尼面臨著人口爆炸和糧食短缺的擔憂。由於印尼是一個農業和海洋社會,那裡的人們通常有很多孩子來減輕日常工作量。自從1980年代以來,計劃生育政策裡的宣傳口號「很多孩子,很多食物」已經成功地被改變了。在較為偏遠的島嶼,背後有軍方參與的新政權也被懷疑閹割了貧窮和受教育程度低的人口。直到今天,即使是位於南蘇門答臘島的馬來世界爪哇化遺產也留下了血腥的橫向衝突。作為一個群島國家,印尼擁有令人難以置信的多樣性,無論是由天使還是惡魔來參與國家的發展,印尼都需要强大的力量來形成統一。

As a maritime agriculture nation, we see muscle strength & communal cooperation in sacrificial slaughter of buffalo heads which is also a melting point and archaic manifestation to negotiate with the invisible power. We did a decapitation symbolically on the Java Sea as a sacrifice for the moving of capital from Jakarta to East Kalimantan as the lighthouse, considered competent to navigate the ark of Nusantara. Somehow it would carry disasters to indigenous & biodiversity of tropical archipelago.

災害絕對會對人口產生重大影響。2021年一至八月一共有1779次天災紀錄。1883年荷蘭東印度群島時期的喀拉喀托火山噴發,或1815年坦博拉山噴發導致西努沙登加拉島的人口滅絕,都為這個熱帶天堂群島帶來了死亡。亞齊、帕魯和東加拉災難性海嘯的死亡人數往往强化了舊的故事。這些疑似因為人們對於災害的無能為力而產生的故事,也就是在那裡的某個時刻,那裡有太多罪惡的人口,大自然需要通過大瘟疫或大規模的自然災害來進行人口糾正。

作為世界上最大的穆斯林國家和僅次於美國的第四大人口大國,印尼共和國將於2045年慶祝獨立一百週年。隨著人口老齡化,一佰週年紀念日的禮物將是一個新的負擔。如果沒有良好的戰略,這種現象還會造成其他疑似正在經歷嚴重人口老化問題的亞洲國家之間的地緣政治動盪。Khidr被中東的伊斯蘭和非伊斯蘭人士描述為信使、聖人能夠解讀未來,並被告知從摩西到今天都是不朽的人。如果我能在夢中遇到Khidr,我會問祂一個問題:

當我們變老和變差的時候,誰來幫助我們?

我們應該再次向水牛尋求幫助嗎?因為這種成功被馴化且美麗的物種將馬來世界的人類從狩獵採集社會帶到了農業社會。所以,在今天的數位時代裡,這種動物的神話故事從未過時。

Footnote
註1. 這是一句印尼語雙關語,印尼群島流行語(untaian batu zamrud di khatulistiwa,即「赤道上的珍珠串」)。伊旺和蒂妲將這個綽號修改成Jambret di Kapitalistiwa,「資本主義的搶包者」,其中搶包者是印尼的經濟和政治寡頭,他們掠奪自己的人民,蹂躪這個他們以民族主義熱情浪漫化的國家。
註2. 這是一句印尼諺語,指的是不要把有價值的東西給不識貨的人,有對牛彈琴之意。