Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
Zuleikha Chaudhari: Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio
Zuleikha Chaudhari選譯—排練自由印度廣播
December 2nd, 2019Type: Translation
Author: Zuleikha Chaudhari, 鄭文琦 (翻譯) Editor: Rikey Tenn
Quote From: 2019 Asian Art Biennale
Note: Subhas Chandra Bose was an Indian nationalist who attempted to rid India of British rule with the help of Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan. The lack of interest shown by Hitler in the cause of Indian independence caused Bose to become disillusioned. He left Nazi Germany in 1943 on a German submarine in the guise of Mr. Matsuda, following which he took a Japanese submarine to Tokyo where he became Chandra Bose. Eventually Bose left for Rangoon to lead the Azaad Hind Fauj. In Nov 1941, a Free India Center was set up in Berlin with the help of German funds, followed by a Free India Radio (Azaad Hind Radio) broadcasting in English and multiple Indian languages. It is alleged that Bose died in a plane crash in Taipei on Aug 18, 1945, while on his way to the former Soviet Union via Tokyo.
Zuleikha Chaudhari, "Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio", 2018; Courtesy of the artist, Commissioned and coproduced by Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, with the support of Goethe-Institute

I.

Subhas Chandra Bose (23 January 1897 – 18 August 1945), was an Indian nationalist whose defiant patriotism made him one of the most dynamic leaders of India’s struggle of Independence, but whose attempt during World War II to rid India of British rule with the help of Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan has left a troubled legacy.

Bose was a leader of the younger wing of the Indian National Congress in the late 1920s and 1930s, rising to become Congress President in 1938 and 1939. However, he had to resign from the post following ideological conflicts with Mohandas K. Gandhi. Bose believed that Gandhi’s tactics of non-violence would never be sufficient to secure India’s independence, and advocated violent resistance. He established a separate political party, the All India Forward Bloc and continued to call for the full and immediate independence of India from British rule. He was subsequently placed under house arrest by the British before escaping from India in 1940.

Bose arrived in Germany in April 1941, where the leadership offered unexpected, if sometimes ambivalent, sympathy for the cause of India’s independence. In November 1941, with German funds, a Free India Centre was set up in Berlin, and soon a Free India Radio, on which Bose broadcast nightly. In the first official meeting of the Free India Centre on 2nd November, 1941 in Berlin, Bose was conferred the title of “Netaji”, “Jai Hind”, was introduced as the national greeting, Rabindranath Tagore’s patriotic song “Jana Gana Mana” was adopted as the national anthem and Hindustani, the most widely spoken language in India, as the national language of Independent India. On 26th Januray, 1943, India’s Freedom Day was celebrated with great splendor in Berlin. A 3,000 strong Free India Legion, comprising Indians captured by Erwin Rommel’s Afrika Korps, was also formed to aid in a possible future German land invasion of India.

The lack of interest shown by Hitler in the cause of Indian independence eventually caused Bose to become disillusioned with Hitler and he decided to leave Nazi Germany in 1943. He traveled by the German submarine U-180 around the Cape of Good Hope to Imperial Japan (via Japanese submarine I-29). Thereafter, the Japanese helped him raise his army in Singapore.

There is a cloud of controversy regarding the death of Subhas Chandra Bose. It is alleged that Bose died in a plane crash in Taipei in Taiwan on 18th August 1945 while on his way to Tokyo and then the Soviet Union. The absence of Bose’s body has given rise to many theories that it was possible that he may have survived the crash.(註1)

Subhas, Subhas Chandra Bose, Mr. Ziauddin, Mr. Orlando Mazzotta, Mr. Matsuda, Chandra Bose, Mr. T, Netaji – these are some of the alibis that Subhash Chandra Bose took in different stages of his political career. From Subhas he became Subhas Chandra Bose when he entered the Indian political scene. He disguised himself as Mr. Ziauddin to hoodwink the British and flee to Kabul. As Italian Mr. Orlando Mazzotta, he journeyed from Samarkand to Berlin via Moscow. Later on he sailed to Madagascar on a German submarine in the guise of Mr. Matsuda. From there he took a Japanese submarine to Tokyo where he became Chandra Bose. He next left for Rangoon to lead the Azad Hind Force into battle against the British as Mr. T. After that he became Netaji, a title that was bestowed on him in Germany in 1941.

 

II.

Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radiois a 40-minute video placed within a “set’ of a radio studio. The work reenacts selected broadcasts Subhash Chandra Bose made from Berlin on Azaad Hind Radio — these outline his political philosophy and his strategies to attain independence and are interwoven with texts from the JNU nationalism lecture series of 2016.

JNU faced a deep crisis over the months of February and March of 2016. The crisis escalated into a fundamental debate as to the nature of the Indian nation-state. Who or what is ‘anti-national’? The question was foregrounded in the month-long lecture series on nationalism conducted last year by JNU Teachers Association (JNUTA) following the “branding” of the university as a “den of anti- nationals” when three of its students were charged with sedition for participating in an event during which anti- national slogans were allegedly raised.

The lectures addressed the meanings, histories and experience of nationalism and its unresolved dilemmas, in India and beyond. The teach-in lectures, which were initially intended for members of the JNU community and delivered principally by JNU teachers, soon gained unanticipated audiences across India and in international forums. Reports and translations of the lectures, live streamed on YouTube, made for a reach that echoed well beyond the ‘Freedom Square’, the area in front of JNU’s Administrative Block.

To consider archival material is to consider not just a problem of history – how do historical facts influence the present? How do they manage to produce their own reality? – but also a question of the poetics of the real, of memory and oblivion.  How does an event relate to its reiteration; how does memory relate to the remembered? Where does the dividing line run between tautology and understanding, between mere mass-media repetition and “cultural memory”, between perfect imitation and critical re-production?

When we talk of historical reality, we talk about something that does not exist in itself, but is the product of a work of ‘imaginative reconstruction’. Reenactment is an attempt to close the gap that has appeared between what has happened and how we talk about it. There are different levels of reality, the historical one, that we can experience only in an indirect way, and the theatrical one, which is real as well as artificial, because it is always the result of a creative act. The re-enactment does not exist: what exists is an acting practice that has to do with imagination and with precision – truth is an artistic event. Re-enactment consists of the agreement that everything is only a play, a picture, a reproduction, a repetition.

Principally, the untidy process of thought and consideration with its related notions of version, repetition, and failure, are what constitute a rehearsal that proceeds to become the so-called “real thing” of performance. “Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio” considers rehearsal as a metaphor for a way of thinking, and an operating strategy. When used as a strategy, the rehearsal foregrounds that which takes place on the periphery and that which may be obscured by the presentation of a polished and final piece. The spine of Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio are my conversations with the actors on performing Bose – what do emotions, presence, and history mean in performance and how does the actor performing an archive become a witness to a historical event? Can the actor’s role as a witness and his interpolation determine the kind of relationship between the historical past and the present?

In this work, as well as some of my other works, the actor – who is everything but also nothing – becomes an exemplar for a kind of performative agency that renders a person capable of expressing more than one kind of truth of the self to the scrutiny of power. The figure of the actor or the impostor offers a method of survival that meets the growing intensification of scrutiny with a strategy based on the multiplication of guises and the amplification of guile. At the same time, the term Impostor is also an accusation. One that power can fling at anyone it chooses to place under scrutiny.

The ‘non-existence’, and therefore the radical freedom, of the impostor and the actor is perhaps why Kautilya’s Arthashastra, a foundational Indian political text, is carefully attentive to the actor/ the artist.

 

Footnote
[1] The death of Indian nationalist leader Subhas Chandra Bose occurred from third-degree burns on 18 August 1945 after his overloaded Japanese plane crashed in Japanese-occupied Formosa (now Taiwan). However, many among his supporters, especially in Bengal, refused at the time, and have refused since, to believe either the fact or the circumstances of his death. Conspiracy theories appeared within hours of his death and have persisted since then, keeping alive various martial myths about Bose See: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Subhas_Chandra_Bose
[2] Chanakya was an ancient Indian teacher, philosopher, economist, jurist and royal advisor. He is traditionally identified as Kauṭilya or Vishnugupta, who authored the ancient Indian political treatise, the Arthashastra, a text dated to roughly between the 2nd century BCE and the 3rd century CE. As such, he is considered the pioneer of the field of political science and economics in India, and his work is thought of as an important precursor to classical economics. His works were lost near the end of the Gupta Empire and not rediscovered until the early twentieth century.

Copyright
Rights of the articles on No Man’s Land are reserved to the original authors or media. No Man’s Land is authorized to reproduce and distribute the articles freely. Users may distribute the articles on No Man’s Land accordingly to the above terms of use, and shall mark the author, and provide a link to the article on No Man’s Land .
「數位荒原」網站上文章之著作權由原發表人或媒體所有,原發表人(媒體)同意授權本站可自由重製及公開散佈該文章。使用者得按此原則自由分享本站收錄之文章,且註明作者姓名、轉載出處「數位荒原」與網頁的直接連結。
Contact
Please fill out your information to contact No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .




Subscribe No Man's Land
Please fill out your email to get the latest from No Man’s Land .
The information you supply will only be used by No Man’s Land .
Unsubscribe No Man’s Land
Zuleikha Chaudhari: Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio
Zuleikha Chaudhari選譯—排練自由印度廣播
December 2nd, 2019類型: Translation
作者: Zuleikha Chaudhari, 鄭文琦 (翻譯) 編輯: Tenn, Bun-ki
出處: 2019 Asian Art Biennale
蘇巴斯.錢德拉.鮑斯是一名印度民族主義者,他企圖透過德國納粹與日本帝國的勢力,使印度脫離英國統治。鮑斯最終認清希特勒對於印度獨立興趣缺缺,並於1943年以松田先生的假名乘坐德國潛水艇離開納粹德國,轉搭日本潛艇前往東京。後來,鮑斯前往仰光領導自由印度臨時政府並對抗英國勢力。1941年11月,自由印度中心在德國資金的援助下於柏林成立,接著也成立了自由印度臨時政府廣播電台。鮑斯製作了英文與多種印度語的節目,每晚在電台播放。據傳鮑斯在1945年8月18日死於發生在台北的墜機事件,當時他正要前往東京,接著由東京轉往前蘇聯。
Zuleikha Chaudhari, "Rehearsing Azaad Hind Radio", 2018; Courtesy of the artist, Commissioned and coproduced by Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, with the support of Goethe-Institute

一、蘇巴斯.錢德拉.鮑斯(Subhas Chandra Bose)

蘇巴斯.錢德拉.鮑斯(Subhas Chandra Bose,1897年1月23日~1945年8月18日)是印度民族主義者,他的反抗愛國主義使他成為印度獨立鬥爭中最有動力的領導人之一,但是他在第二次世界大戰期間試圖借納粹德國和日本帝國之助力,讓印度擺脫英國統治的努力,卻也留下混亂的遺產。

鮑斯在1920年代末和1930年代擔任印度國民大會黨少壯派的領導人,並在1938年和1939年竄升為國民大會黨主席。但是,在與莫罕達斯.K.甘地(Mohandas K. Gandhi)發生意識形態衝突後,他不得不辭職。鮑斯認為,甘地的非暴力策略將永不足以確保印度的獨立,而主張進行暴力抵抗。他成立另一個獨立政黨,即「全印前進聯盟(All India Forward Bloc)」,同時持續呼籲印度完全、立即從英國統治下獨立。他接著遭到英國人軟禁,然後於1940年逃離了印度。

鮑斯於1941年4月抵達德國,領導團體對印度獨立的目標表現出意想不到的(就算有些矛盾的)同情。1941年11月2日,在德國的資助下,柏林成立了自由印度中心(印度臨時政府),旋即在柏林建立了自由印度廣播電台,鮑斯晚上都在該電台播出。1941年11月2日,於柏林的自由印度中心舉行的第一次正式會議上,鮑斯被授予「Netaji(尊敬的領袖)」、「印度萬歲」,並受到國家級的歡迎,羅賓德拉納特.泰戈爾(Rabindranath Tagore)的愛國歌曲「人民的意志(Jana Gana Mana)」被定為國歌,至於印度斯坦語,這種印度最多人使用的語言則被定為獨立印度的語言。1943年1月26日,柏林盛大地舉辦印度宣誓獨立日的慶祝活動。一個由三千名以上埃爾溫.隆美爾(Erwin Rommel)帥德意志非洲軍(Afrika Korps)所俘虜之印度人所組成的印度軍團,為了幫助德國可能在將來沿陸路入侵印度而成軍。

由於希特勒對印度獨立的目標興趣缺缺的表現,最終使鮑斯對希特勒感到幻滅,並決定在1943年離開納粹德國。他搭乘德國的U-180潛艇經過好望角,又經由日本潛艇I-29前往日本帝國。在那之後,日本人協助他在新加坡增兵。

有關蘇巴斯·錢德拉·鮑斯之死的謎團充滿爭議。據稱鮑斯在1945年8月18日在台灣的松山機場因飛機失事喪生,當時他正取道東京前往蘇聯。人們看不到鮑斯的屍體而引發許多假說,認為他可能倖免於難。(註1)

蘇巴斯(Subhas)、蘇巴斯.錢德拉.鮑斯(Subhas Chandra Bose)、齊亞丁先生(Mr. Ziauddin)、奧蘭多.馬佐塔先生(Mr. Orlando Mazzotta),松田先生(Mr. Matsuda)、錢德拉.鮑斯(Chandra Bose)、T先生、涅特吉先生(Netaji)—這些都是同一人在其政治生涯的不同階段中所採用的一些不在場化身。進入印度政治舞台後他從蘇巴斯變成蘇巴斯.錢德拉.鮑斯。他偽裝成齊亞丁先生以瞞騙英國人並逃往喀布爾。作為意大利人奧蘭多.馬佐塔先生,他從撒馬爾罕(Samarkand)經由莫斯科前往柏林。後來他以松田先生的名義乘德國潛艇航行到馬達加斯加。從那裡他搭另一艘日本潛艇到東京,在那裡成了錢德拉.鮑斯(Chandra Bose)。他接下來前往仰光領導自由印度軍團,並以T先生的身份與英軍作戰。此後,他成為了涅塔吉,他於1941年在德國獲得的身份。

 

二、重演(reenactment)

〈排練自由印度廣播〉是一段長約40分鐘的錄像,被安排在廣播電台錄音室的「場景」中。該作品挑選了鮑斯在柏林的自由印度電台製作的廣播節目以重新演繹;這些廣播概述了他的政治哲學以及達成獨立的策略,同時它和賈瓦哈拉爾・尼赫魯大學(Jawaharlal Nehru University,JNU)於2016年的「民族主義講座系列」的文稿混合在一起播出。

尼赫魯大學在2016年2月到3月幾個月間,遭遇了嚴重的危機。此危機加劇為何謂印度民族國家本質的一場根本辯論。「誰」或者「什麼」是「反民族」?該問題是在前一年該大學被「宣稱」為「反民族巢穴」之後,由尼赫魯大學教師協會(JNUTA)進行為期一個月的「民族主義講座系列」中被特別提出,當時,該校有三名學生被指控參與據說提出「反民族」口號的行動而觸犯煽動叛亂罪。

這些講座探討了印度及印度以外地區的,民族主義及其未解決兩難處的意義、歷史與經驗。最初是尼赫魯大學社群成員並主要由尼赫魯大學教師所授課的講綱,很快在整個印度和國際輿論間吸引出乎意料的閱聽對象。這些講座的報導與翻譯在影音平台YouTube上即時串流播放,其影響力遠遠觸及並獲得尼赫魯大學行政大樓前的「自由廣場」以外的迴響。

考慮檔案材料要考慮的不僅是歷史問題—還有歷史事實如何影響當下?它們如何得以生產自己的現實?這個提問更是關於真實、記憶和遺忘的詩學。事件與它的重複施行有何關係;記憶與「被記住」的內容有何關係?在套套邏輯(tautology)與理解之間,純大眾傳播與「文化記憶」之間,和完美模仿與批判再現之間的分界線又在哪裡?

當我們談論歷史現實時,我們談論的是本身不復存在的,而是一種「想像式重建」工作的產物。重新演繹作為某種努力,是試圖彌合已經發生的事物和我們談論它之間的差距。現實有不同的層次,而歷史的層次我們只能以間接的方式體驗,至於戲劇的層次則是真實(real)以及人為(artificial)的,因為它永遠是創造性行為的結果。重演並不存在:存在的是與想像力和精確度有關的行動(acting)實踐—真實是一個藝術事件。構成了重演的共識是:一切都只是一場表演,一倀圖片,一種再製,一次重複。

原則上,無法精確的思考作用及對版本相關概念的考慮,重複,還有失敗,這些事物構成了彩排,即逐漸成為所謂的表演的「真實事物」。〈排練自由印度廣播〉 將排練視為一種思維方式和經營策略的隱喻。當它作為策略時,排練可能凸顯發生在周圍的、且可能被修飾至完美的最終作品呈演所掩蓋的那些部份。〈排練自由印度廣播〉 的脊骨是我與演員對於表演「鮑斯」這個人的對話—在表演中的情感、在場與歷史意味著什麼?演繹檔案的演員,如何成為一個歷史事件的見證?演員作為證人的角色以及他的增補作用,能否確定歷史過去與當下現在之間的關係?

在這部作品、還有某些我的其他作品裡,演員就—就是一切,也什麼都不是—成為一種表演中介(代理者、能動者)的榜樣,這種中介使一個人得以向他人表達不只一種朝向權力審查的自我真理。這個演員或冒名頂替者的角色,提供一種可以滿足日益增長的審查要求的生存方法,而該方法是基於偽裝的多元(mutiplication)和巧辯強化的策略。與此同時,「冒名頂替者」一詞也是一種責難;是權力在抨擊被它納入審查下的任何人。

冒名頂替者和演員的「不存在」,以及因此而來的基進自由,也許就是為什麼考底利耶(Kautilya)(註2) 的《政事論(Arthashastra)》,印度的基礎政治文本,如此認真地關注演員/藝術家的原因吧。

 

Footnote
註1. 1945年8月15日,日本投降。鮑斯在同月18日飛抵台北飛行場,並攜帶兩件手提行李,內有「來自東南亞的300萬印度人所捐獻的珠寶及金飾」;同日下午2時轉搭九七式重轟炸機前往滿洲大連,卻在台北飛行場飛機起飛之際,螺旋槳脫離而失控墜毀。當時身受重傷的鮑斯轉送臺大醫院搶救,鮑斯當夜11點不治,享年48歲。作為民族自決象徵的鮑斯,在2014年競選總理的納倫德拉.莫迪在選舉期間,更表示將以國家名義向獨立運動領袖鮑斯授予非軍方最高勳章。
註2. 考底利耶(Kautily,約公元前350–公元前275)是公元前四世紀古印度政治家、哲學家,婆羅門,曾協助旃陀羅笈多一世建立孔雀王朝 。因為考底利那擅長權謀,所以後人稱他為「印度的馬基雅維利」,他所著的《政事論》,是古印度的重要政治文獻。